Why would you use Revision History?
- If you are using a document as a part of your lesson, and make changes during the class period, revert back to an earlier version to "reset" it for the next period.
- Check if students followed suggestions from peer or teacher editing - You can go back and see if students made changes that were suggested. (You can also always see all comments and suggested edits, even if a student resolved them, by clicking on "Comments" at the top of the screen, next to the "Share" button.)
- Plagiarism check - if a huge segment of text gets added at one time, a student copied/pasted it into the doc. (Be sure to click "Show more detailed revisions" at the bottom of the revision history window to check this.)
- Accidents - sometimes when working in groups, a student may accidentally change something. Anyone who has editing rights can go back and see the previous version, or copy something from a previous version and then go back to the most recent version and paste in "old" text/images.
- Sabotage - sometimes students don't behave as they should in a document that is shared with multiple people. You will always have a history of who did what, and can restore previous versions. (The document must be shared w/ specific people, not "anyone with a link" to see the names of who did what.)
How do you access Revision History?
There are two ways to access Revision History.